And then there was Nepal

As some of you who read my blogs may know, I was hoping to ride my bike from India through Nepal and into Tibet.  So I have been planning and studying the region for some time.

About a year ago, I was introduced to a young man in Nepal with a dream to take the Good News of Jesus to his fellow Nepali people.  Unfortunately, as an orphan, he lacked the funds.  Could I help him?  So, my plans to go to Nepal gained impetus, and the focus changed from tourism to what I might do to help him and others.   Somehow, over the last year or so, I have fallen in love with the people of Nepal more than the scenery.

Now comes the events of the last few weeks.  Suddenly, everyone is thinking about Nepal.  Well-intentioned people are rushing with food, medical and other kinds of aid.  Donations are pouring in. Everyone wants to help.

I have two questions.  Besides the tourists, who came for the view, who cared a hang for Nepal before the earthquake?  And how long will it take for all of this caring to move on to the next disaster and leave the Nepali people to their fate?

I know there are a lot of people, by which I mean hundreds, that really care about Nepal in a personal way.  And there are many thousands more who simply are compassionate people and want to help people out in desperate times.  And thank God for all of them.  But, ten dollars is easy to spare, or even a hundred, when it’s nothing to drop $500 a month on the new SUV.  I’m sure most of the Doctors Without Borders could pony up substantially more than that.   Instead, they give something a lot more precious.  They give themselves.  They don’t just write a check toward a problem.  They go and FIX the problem.

What is my point?  Why does it take a disaster before we care?  Why are we so selfish that we scream through life on our agendas and don’t bother to look at the people we pass, the very people whose existence defines life?  Perhaps that is our training in the modern world where money and pleasure have become our most sought after commodities.

I have a commitment to help the people of Nepal.  I can’t fling them a check right now.  But I give them myself.  I will pray for them, laugh and cry with them, seek to do business with them.  Mostly, I will find a way to come to them and help them fix their problems.  Commitment isn’t about checks, and it isn’t about today.  It’s about tomorrow and every day after that.   Good that so many offer help to Nepal.  Don’t forget them tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Open Mind

Leave a Reply

