I Like Ike. I Want To Be Like Ike.

No, it’s not a misprint.  Not talking about Michael Jordan or Jackson or any other entertainer.  I’m talking about a guy who came from a small town in the middle of nowhere, worked his butt off in relative obscurity for thirty years in the army, and, though considered a genius of vel craft, was never even to the rank of colonel by age 50.  The a proven leader of men, he was consigned to one strategic desk job after another, never getting a chance to show off his superior abilities for waging successful military campaigns.

But, all those desk jobs would come back to be very important.  Because those desk jobs weren’t just menial glorified secretarial roles.  They were jobs that required working for and with the brightest military minds of the era–Patton, Marshall, MacArthur, Pershing, and places like France and the Philippines, places in which his experience would come to be very important when the call came.

And the call did come.  And Dwight David Eisenhower answered it.  And the world was better off for it.  After Eisenhower assumed command of the Allied Forces, the war was quickly and efficiently brought to a solution.  No, he didn’t to it without firing a shot.  But, given the standoff that was, and given the historic loss of life that the standoff of the World War I had incurred, it’s safe to say that millions of lives were saved by one middle-aged career middle management army man who almost nobody had every heard of before he assume command.

I am like Ike in one way.  I have a lifetime of learning and training with not much to show for it.  No one knows or cares who I am or what I can do.  But I know that I can do.  And my time is going to come.   Every setback I have now is training.  Every book I read of every great mind and every accomplished individual is training for when it is my turn.

Just before Barack Obama was elected president, I was talking to one of the college “boys” who lived next door.  He was one of the more promising ones as I could tell, since he actually was interested in reading books deeper than People Magazine.  I had even given him one of the best books I had at the time, The Closing of the American Mind, to read.  Had he read it, he would probably have, just as I had coming out of graduate school, realized that middle aged people knew considerably more that I, the well educated young buck.  He would probably not have made the statement to me that people of my generation had had their chance and that is was not time for his generation to fix all the world’s problems.  And he might even have thought twice about the fact that the man everyone chose to change America was middle aged guy the same age as I whose entire life experience was being a snot-nosed community organizer before he became a do-nothing senator by having all his opponents disqualified in the senatorial election.  And he might have noticed, if he had read that book, that the very people who had tried to destroy America in the 60s, and that had actually destroyed the education system in which this young lad was now being indoctrinated into a lock step zombie, were the same people who had created one Barack Obama.

But I digress.  The point is, Ike had the same problem.  He had a lot of answers to which no one would listen.  So he bode his time and waited, and waited, and waited.  One day, people woke up and realized that the current leadership was getting nowhere.  And his time came.  And the old man taught everyone a few things.  He saved the Western Hemisphere from having to goose step and the Asian theater from having to learn Japanese.

So, “old” people like me, people whom the teenagers think should just die already, there probably going to come a time when we are heard again.   When the progressive agenda has pushed us over the line of no return, young people will turn in desperation to the tried and true ideas of yesterday.   And it will once again be “our time.”  How are we going to respond?  I, for one, have been mired a little in self pity and felt like just throwing in the towel and going on welfare and food stamps like everyone else.  Smoke a little joint here, close a bar down there, sleep till mid-afternoon, live in a flop house, pass the buck to some other tax payer to give me my rightful handouts.  But we all know that the paper chase can’t continue after the bottom of productivity has completely eroded.

There is coming a time, soon, when the New Deal will utterly fail and we all must go back to basics.  Basics means domestic production, self-sufficiency, innovation,  real GNP based on hard commodities, life after petroleum-poisoned food and nationally subsidized drug addiction.  The time will soon come when anarchy will tear down the remains of what is broken, and, this time, people will be ready to replace what has been broken since the 60s with what actually worked before then.  And who is going to lead the disillusioned, starving children back to those times besides those of us who can still remember them?

I want to be like Ike.  I hope I get that chance.  I can’t give up.  I have to be ready.   If I don’t survive until the Change, then it’s my duty to teach someone under 30 who will survive and be ready to lead the campaign.  This is not time to be soft.  There’s a war going on.  America is still under the same threats today that is was in Ike’s time.  No time for losers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Open Mind

Leave a Reply

