Evaluation Time Already?

Cover of "The Circle of Innovation: You C...

Cover via Amazon

I have been reading a fascinating new book.  OK, it’s not a new book, but it has new concepts.   Well, that’s not entirely true either. After all, the book was written in 1997, so neither it nor the concepts can hardly be called novel.  Even I have some grasp of them, having already read  The World Is Flat.  What is new to me is the clarity and urgency this book relates to me in understanding and implementing the concepts.

The book, by Tom Peters, is innocuously titled The Circle Of Innovation.  Browsing it in the clearance rack at Half Price Books, I did as I usually do–opened to somewhere in the middle and read to see if it said something I agreeable. What I found was a graph of circles that didn’t make any sense.  Intrigued, I decided to buy the book.   Good decision!

Halfway through the book, and I already know that I have to change EVERYTHING about my life (except the part about where I’m going after).  Why?  Because I am the proverbial dinosaur.

When we hit 50, there is a tendency to become complacent, to do the comfortable, to resist innovation.  This not only holds true for me, but for the entire corporate structure of America,  which hit 50 decades ago.  Politics as we know them has fossilized right along with the corporate mindset.  Ideological big pictures have long ago been replaced with platforms and platitudes that are as obsolete as the Smith Corona and the Selectric.  We, and most of our bright ideas, are dinosaurs!

There is a New World Order, whether we like it or not.  We can whine all we want about turning back the clock, but it can’t be done.  America is no longer the only game in town, nor is it going to be, for long, the economic juggernaut.

We can whine all we want about Illuminati and international cabals, they aren’t going to go away.  Truth is, they have a huge head start on us in terms of global control.  But, in reality, they ate nothing more than a global network.  Here’s the good news–you can be, too!

We are in the internet age.  Everyone in the world who owns a computer is 6/10 of a second from you.  The power is there to build your own global cabal in a matter of days.  Why whine about outsourcing.  You outsource your coffee making to Starbucks and your lunch to McDonald’s.  You outsource most of you life already.  What’s the difference if you outsource some things to Hank or Habib if Habib can do it better and faster?

Ah, this little thing called “patriotism”.  Buy American.  Think about your life as a business.  Everyone who does anything for you is employed by you.  And every employee is a resource.  Shouldn’t you (and, in reality, don’t you) be constantly searching for the best resource for each job?  That’s called “networking”.  Whether you realize it or not, you are already engaged in global networking.  Your clothes come from Bangladesh, your car from Mexico and everything else from China.  You might think you buy American because that is where the middle men are.

I look at it this way.   The best thing I can do for America is to create prosperous trade partners and amiable neighbors.  The best way to solve the immigration problem is to increase opportunities for people in other countries to stay where they are.  I’m all for the global village!  A free and prosperous America depends upon a free and prosperous everyone else.

But enough about global economy.  Back to personal economy.  Back to reinventing myself, because I am my own personal economy, no matter what the global market does.  I am responsible for innovating PRB Inc or being left behind.  Flexibility is now the key to survival itself.   When it comes to improving on my structure, I can only improve so much.  After that, the only way to improve is to do something complete!y different.  With age comes complacency and more fear of risk.   That is why older people walk and drive more slowly.   Unfortunately, risk is life. Without risk, there is no reward.  If you are old enough and have enough reward to avoid risk, then more power to you.  For the rest of us, no guts no glory.  If you don’t risk improving, you risk starving.

I’ve been thinking about blowing up my blog for a long time.  I have too many irons in one fire to begin with.  I’ve learned a few things from the shotgun approach.  But it’s time to get out the rifle and start aiming.  Tom Peters’ book was somewhat affirming, though.  His advice was “Ready!  Fire! Aim!  In other words, the only way to know if something won’t work is to try it.  So I tried it, and now its’ time to try something else.

The thing I now hate most about my blog is the name.  Turns out that being right wing isn’t really about nuts and bolts.  Its about broad concepts.  The problem that most of us have is that we are overwhelmed by minutia.  We make it way too complicated.  Being “right wing” really boils down to one thing–freedom.  The most important freedoms are in numerated in the Constitution.  In economics, it is best expressed as “free market”.  When you understand these big concepts, then you begin to run from regulations, tariffs, bans, protectionism. When “conservatives” begin to run toward these things, they have lost their way.  They begin to see war as a means of protecting “America’s interests” instead a hindrance to free trade, which will hurt everyone’s interest.  Yes, it’s time for everyone, not just me, to start reevaluating.

There are other things about which I blog.  They are each important to some understanding of the whole.  But they each deserve their own place.  Really, by linking many blog together, I won’t be gutting one great site.  Its not great as it is, as evidenced by dismal readership.  By breaking up into smaller parts, each has the potential to become great in itself.  Also, I can then look for ways to outsource the work.  Both great concepts mentioned in Peters’ book.

Yes, fascinating read.  How good is it?  My business partner, the cum lauda business student, was shocked to hear my new take on 6 Sigma, per the book.  So he asked his econ professor’s opinion.  The prof agreed with Peters’ assessment.  So much for the ability of business school curriculum to keep up with business.  Maybe it’s time to practice a little 6 sigma on profs.  Better yet, time for them to forget what they know and start over. Innovate or die, dinosaurs!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Economics/ Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

