Love drives out Fear–Which is motivating You?

Each day, I spend about four to five hours reading.  Often, I don’t have enough time to block out and whip up a blog after doing all that reading.  I do the reading in order to substantiate the blogs.  So it’s kind of a catch 22.  But, a lot of what I read speaks very well for itself.  I often wonder if I should be spending more time re-blogging or just compiling lists of the best articles on every subject that I feel is important.  Today, I stole a part of an excellent article.  If you want to read the rest of it go here.  The part I am re-posting deals with abortions.  Most of it is a quote from Mother Teresa.  It reminds us that abortion is about much more than the physical toll of millions of babies lost to a nation.  It’s also about the spiritual toll that it exacts from a nation.  And it is motivated more by fear than by any righteous feelings about choice.  The same fear is what’s driving our government into the ground–fear of the cost of doing the right thing.  But don’t let me go on and on, just read the article here.

Abortion:This is the issue that breaks my heart for our nation and for our world. I bring a perspective that hasn’t been heard much in this argument.

I was adopted at 11 days old.

I thank God every day that I was not aborted. What does a few months mean? I am grateful for the voices that whispered and counseled my biological mother to wade through the brief travails of childbirth rather than to carry the lifelong pangs of regret. And thanks mom, thanks dad, for waiting five years on a list to adopt me.

My son Joshua and dear daughter-in-law Whitney are expecting. I can’t think of a greater joy than the gift of a newborn child.

Thank you Whitney. Thank you Joshua. I’m going to be a grandfather!

I bought my house from Greg and Holly Richardson, friends that have adopted eighteen children with four of their own. They keep making room. I admire former Presidential candidate Michele Bachmann who raised five children and 23 foster children. They kept making room.

Some issues shouldn’t be left or right; they are good or they are bad. This issue alone stops me from leaning left.

The best words I have ever found on this terrible topic are those of Mother Teresa of Calcutta:

“America needs no words from me to see how your decision in Roe v. Wade has deformed a great nation. The so-called right to abortion has pitted mothers against their children and women against men. It has sown violence and discord at the heart of the most intimate human relationships. It has aggravated the derogation of the father’s role in an increasingly fatherless society. It has portrayed the greatest of gifts — a child — as a competitor, an intrusion, and an inconvenience. It has nominally accorded mothers unfettered dominion over the independent lives of their physically dependent sons and daughters” And, in granting this unconscionable power, it has exposed many women to unjust and selfish demands from their husbands or other sexual partners. Human rights are not a privilege conferred by government. They are every human being’s entitlement by virtue of his humanity. The right to life does not depend, and must not be declared to be contingent, on the pleasure of anyone else, not even a parent or a sovereign.

Mother Teresa in a Calcutta orphanage, 1979. Bettmann / Corbis

Mother Teresa in a Calcutta orphanage, 1979. Bettmann / Corbis

“But I feel that the greatest destroyer of peace today is abortion, because it is a war against the child – a direct killing of the innocent child – murder by the mother herself. And if we accept that a mother can kill even her own child, how can we tell other people not to kill one another? How do we persuade a woman not to have an abortion? As always, we must persuade her with love, and we remind ourselves that love means to be willing to give until it hurts. Jesus gave even his life to love us. So the mother who is thinking of abortion, should be helped to love – that is, to give until it hurts her plans, or her free time, to respect the life of her child. The father of that child, whoever he is, must also give until it hurts. By abortion, the mother does not learn to love, but kills even her own child to solve her problems. And by abortion, the father is told that he does not have to take any responsibility at all for the child he has brought into the world. That father is likely to put other women into the same trouble. So abortion just leads to more abortion. Any country that accepts abortion is not teaching the people to love, but to use any violence to get what they want. That is why the greatest destroyer of love and peace is abortion.

“Please don’t kill the child. I want the child. Please give me the child. I am willing to accept any child who would be aborted, and to give that child to a married couple who will love the child, and be loved by the child. From our children’s home in Calcutta alone, we have saved over 3,000 children from abortions. These children have brought such love and joy to their adopting parents, and have grown up so full of love and joy! (Mother Teresa)”

This entrepreneur will make room for more. We will make jobs for more.

It takes commitment.

I love it when a salesperson buys a home… sales go up. When a salesperson gets married… sales go up. When a salesperson has a child… sales go up.

I love what I do.

Love is the greatest motivation of all. And if not love… then duty. But without duty comes selfishness and fear.

Abortions come from fear. Fear that there isn’t room. Fear that there won’t be enough for another mouth to feed. Fear that there isn’t time for a child. Fear that one small mistake will drastically change my life. Fear to make known to my family.

Don’t fear. Have faith. A dear friend, Larry Macfarlane, recently taught me that, faith minus fear is “net usable faith.” Bravery is actionable faith in the face of fear.

If you can’t rise to love, at least rise to duty for your child. There is room enough and for all. It was our own Malcolm (Steve) Forbes Jr. in the September 1994 issue of Forbes that said,

“A growing population is not a drag on economic development. When combined with freedom, it is a stimulant….Free people don’t “exhaust” resources. They create them. Wealth comes from human imagination and innovation.”

And an article entitled “Ten Billion for Dinner, Please,” in U.S. News and World Report on 12 September, 1994 states that the earth is capable of producing food for a population of at least eighty billion, eight times the ten billion expected to inhabit the earth by the year 2050. One study estimates that with improved scientific (and entrepreneurial – my addition) methods, the earth could feed as many as one thousand billion people.

Don’t fear; entrepreneurs will make room.

I John 4:18

Leave a comment

Filed under Economics/ Book Reviews, On Family, Health, Environment and Ethics

Leave a Reply

