Meditation: Ecclesiastes 5:12

12 The sleep of a laborer is sweet,
whether they eat little or much,
but as for the rich, their abundance
permits them no sleep.

It’s been a long week.  There have been many nights with little sleep.  There have been a lot of failed negotiations, a lot of coulda, woulda, shoulda, mighta.  There are still a lot of loose ends in my life.  Any one of them could cause some significant problems for me…..

But wait!  I am poor.  I don’t own houses–the bank owns them.  Almost all my problems these days revolve around real estate–how do I pay for them, what kind of tenants are in them and what problems they are causing, how do I fix them, how do I pay my back taxes.  But the real estate is really not mine.

I used to sleep very poorly because I worried about losing my real estate.  Then one day, I read Ecclesiastes and realized that its all meaningless.  I might lose everything tomorrow.  Even if I have something when I die, it will just pass to the fool who comes after me.  I stopped worrying.  And a funny thing happened.  The sky did not fall in.  I started to face the awful truths, and I discovered that they didn’t have control over me.  Every time I thought I was finished,  God said, “Not so fast!”  God has always had an answer for everything that has distressed me.  He continues to challenge me to trust him a little more deeply, a little more completely.  He says to me, “Let go and watch what I can do!”

So, I have let go.  I have let go of blaming my failures on my sinfulness, because he tells me he has taken care of that through Jesus.  I have let go of thinking I am not doing enough, because he has shown me that his strength can only be perfected in my moments of weakness.  I have let go of anxiety that used to keep me up at night or cause me to wake in a panic in the middle of the night.  Because he has taught me that I have no real possessions of value on this earth besides him.  Oh, there are still some times when I wake with anxiety.  But a quick read of Ecclesiastes or another of his great Book of Promises puts me right back to sleep.

Don’t lose sleep over what you might lose.  Realize that it’s all an illusion, anyway.  We are all poor.  We all bring nothing into the world, and we all take nothing out of it.  Realize that what you have in Jesus you can’t lose.  Then, sleep like a baby.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meditations

Leave a Reply

